When observing Podrinje`s Pearl, words are scarce, thoughts abound.
The Drina River, one of the longest and well-plenished rivers of the Balkan Peninsula, meanders between Macva and Semberija plains. The Drina is especially rich in aquatic treasures. Upstream, one can catch huchen, trout, grayling, and downstream – nose carp, chub, carp, barbell, pike-perch, pike and larger specimens of catfish.
Gucevo is the wooded mountain overlooking Banja Kovijaca from the south. It extends for 15 kilometers from northwest to southeast, from Banja Koviljaca to Boranja Mountain. The highest peak, Crni vrh (Black Summit), is at an altitude of 779 meters. In world war history, the first battle in the trenches took place there. Geologists have established that Gucevo Mountain was formed from different types of rocks, mostly limestone and sandstone. In ancient times, erosion brought about the existence of thermomineral waters. Gucevo is rich in springs of cool, clean drinking water. On the mountaintop, a memorial charnel house was built, dedicated to the ones that died in a battle in 1914 on this mountain. The field surrounding the memorial charnel house offers a breathtaking view of the surrounding area. Shadowy trekking paths of Mt. Gucevo are especially appealing to hikers and visitors.
Trsic, a village situated 9 kilometers southeast of the City of Loznica, is the birthplace of the scholar and great lecturer of Serbian literature and culture, Vuk Stefanovic Karadzic. In the village, there is an ethnographic park which includes a memorial house and various structures illustrating national architecture of the time. The entire ethnographic park is situated in the colorful valley of the Zeravija River. At the centre of this unique memorial ethnographic park is Vuk Karadzic’s house – a reconstructed house with supporting structures surrounding it in the yard that were used daily by ana average family in 19th century.
Tronosa, a medieval monastery is located only four kilometers from Trsic. It was built in 1317 under the patronage of Katarina, wife of Dragutin, who was a great-grandson of Stefan Nemanja (a founder of Nemanjic dynasty which ruled Serbia from 1168 to 1371). The Monastery was reconstructed in 1599, and it was there that the monk Josif wrote well-known Tronosa’s annals of which a copy is kept in the Monastery and the original in Vienna.
St. Nikolaj’s Monastery at Soko Grad is situated at the intersection of three municipalities (Ljubovija, Krupanj and Mali Zvornik). It was built in 2000, in the vicinity of a medieval town of Soko Grad, built in 15th century, known for having been the last Turkish fortification in Serbia. The area surrounding the Monastery is rich in lavish and unspoiled wilderness dominated by hills and waterfalls.